Tags

Christmas really must be close, since we got our college kid home this week for the holiday break! I’m glad to have her here (and so proud of her hard work and accomplishments her first semester away from home), but I’m also a little nervous that Christmas is almost here. I don’t feel prepared at all, and that’s a really weird feeling for me as I’m usually ultra-organized and prepared. But I try to remind myself what this season is really all about and worry less about the material things and more about just enjoying our time together as a family and appreciating all the good things that surround us. Always helps to put things in perspective when you do that.

You’ve almost had a chance to meet all of our staff members this year and learn about things they are grateful for….almost! Just a few more to go (another sign we must be close to the end of the year)!

Today I get to introduce a member of our sales team, Sal Gomez. He is one of the hardest working and kind people I know, always thinking about how he can help others and what will make things better for them. It’s probably why he is successful in sales.

He writes:

Gomez_SalIt’s hard to believe that Christmas is just around the corner. I’m very grateful I get to spend another Christmas Season with my family to celebrate the miraculous birth of Jesus. Although I do not enjoy shopping crowds, mall traffic, full parking lots and grouchy Christmas shoppers standing in long lines, I find this season to be the most joyous of the year.

I’m grateful to God for Elsie, my wife of almost 30 years, my children and grandchild. I’m grateful for caring parents who loved me very much and did their best to provide my siblings and I with what we needed.

I’m grateful for my job, the people I work for and the people I get to work with. I’m thankful for my men’s support group and all the good friends that care for me and my family and keep me in the right track (or at least they try – I need lots of work and practice to stay on the right track).

I’m very grateful to my Lord and creator, my loving, committed and forgiving Heavenly Father. I’m thankful for His goodness to me. For loving me and caring about every detail of my life and for sharing my pain, anguish and frustrations.

Most of all, I’m grateful to God for sending Jesus at Christmas to save me.

Thank you, Sal. Such a wonderful reminder of how blessed we all are to know that “Jesus is the reason for the season” and appreciate all He has done for us.

And here’s a little early present from me to you to help with all of the last minute Christmas shopping! This fun little video reminds us that some of the best gifts we can give don’t come from a store but rather from our hearts. ENJOY!