Tags

Can you believe it? Another year has almost come to a close. This is always a time for reflection, as we look back over the previous months, and I can definitely say it’s been another year full of changes and growth for me.

Olsen_Lynn_pdAt the beginning of the year, I was editor of our Progressive Forage Grower magazine and had the idea to share gratitude blogs from our staff members each Friday throughout the year. I don’t know how many people have seen them or if they have touched anyone else, but I have definitely enjoyed the experience.

By mid-year, we had hired a new editor so I could focus full-time on circulation, but she was gracious enough to let me continue to maintain and collect these gratitude blogs.

I have come to appreciate my co-workers even more than I already did, as each one shared a unique and personal part of themselves with me and each of you. It has also helped make me even more aware of how much we do have to be thankful for. There as so many little things in our lives, each and every day, that truly are blessings, if we will just stop and recognize them as such.

I don’t know what will happen with the blog moving forward – our new editor will be making some decisions about that soon. But I want to thank each person who has taken part in our gratitude blogs throughout the past year, whether you have contributed a submission or shared in reading and sharing them. I hope it has been a blessing in your life each Friday, as it definitely has been in mine!

I’m sure it will be another wonderful year, if we all commit (in the words of Jean-Luc Picard – yup – Star Trek fan here!) to “make it so.” It just takes a little time for reflection to find the things that make it that way!

To repeat the words of Henry B. Eyring:

“Ask yourself, ‘How did God bless me today?’ If yo do that long enough and with enough faith, you will find yourself remembering blessings. And sometimes you will have gifts brought to your mind which you failed to notice during the day, but which you will then know were a touch of God’s hand in your life.”

I wish you each a happy and blessed new year!
Lynn O