Tags

Well, I’m a little late (okay, three days!) with this post, but I was out of town traveling to World Ag Expo last week. Got home late Friday afternoon and thought I’d post something that day, but ended up getting busy catching up at home and then just totally forgot to go back and do it. So, my thankful Friday post is coming to you on a Monday this time… 🙂

As  I mentioned, I was in Tulare, California last week for World Ag Expo. The weather was BEAUTIFUL and I enjoyed spending time with our team outside of the office, working our booths to talk with current and future subscribers, meeting with contributors and allied industry and, in general, just getting to rub shoulders with the good people involved with agriculture. I count myself privileged and thankful to work for and with the people I do.

I was also grateful for safe travels. Once I’m at a show, I’m glad I’m there, but I don’t particularly love the traveling part. Some of my colleagues had travelled to Canada for a show the week before and gotten stuck for several extra days, so I was glad to not have delays with flights or problems getting where we needed to be.

But the thing I wanted to share this week was one of my favorite things from World Ag Expo. As you may or may not know, I have a plant science background and worked at the greenhouses on campus while going to school and later owned a greenhouse and nursery with my husband. So as fun and interesting as it is to see the big forage equipment and other products for forage product, I have a real soft spot for ornamental plants, too.

There is so much to see at the show that there’s barely enough time to walk all of the show, say nothing about stop and visit with each vendor. But I always take a few minutes to find my favorite booth. Tucked away in a little spot outside of one of the big tents is a display of the most beautiful orchids for sale. They always bring a smile to my face and the gentleman that sells them is so friendly and so knowledgeable it’s just a pleasure talking to him. They won’t grow in Idaho very well, so I’ve never tried to bring one home, but it just makes me smile to see them and admire their unique flowers.

So, enjoy a few photos and enjoy one of the beautiful things in this world that I was grateful for this week!

2013-02-13 13.05.07 2013-02-13 13.04.58 2013-02-13 13.04.21 2013-02-13 13.04.06