Tags

Getting close to the end of another month, believe it or not! But I love this time of year, when people think about what they are thankful for and (hopefully) think of each other a little more than themselves. As long as I avoid shopping, my spirits stay pretty high!

Our guest blogger this week is a member of our office staff, Fernie Stobart. She hasn’t been with us very long, but I’m happy to share some of her thoughts with you today.

She writes:

Stobart_FernieI was asked to write about my gratitude (or better yet, as I would say, my number came up – thank you, Lynn). To me, gratitude is a powerful word because without it I wouldn’t be who I am today. Being a week before Thanksgiving, we all give thanks for our blessings from throughout the year on this one special day. So, I couldn’t have asked for a better time to write this.

My life, as with most people, has had its ups and downs. But what we all need to remember is that there’s a reason behind everything that happens to us. We, as human beings, tend to forget this during different times in our lives. And we may not understand it at that point and time, but later on it does all make sense.

I’m a single mom of three amazing kids, two boys and a girl. They are the greatest blessings I will ever have. The times that I may be having a bad day, all I have to do is go into my own little world and start to think of all the blessings that these three kids bring me as their mother. I know that they love me, and I love them with everything in life itself.

kids

I also know that they depend on me for anything and everything that life may throw at them and they may not have answers for. We love to spend time together playing games, making and doing crafts, and of course, our favorite – taking pictures; that can be a lot of fun, especially when there’s a 7 year old. We also enjoy taking walks and hiking up to different places where we can explore and find treasures.

We, as a family, have lost a lot in the past year, but we have also gained a lot. For this I’m very thankful. I’m thankful for being healthy and having the ability to take care of my family. We believe in our many blessings and our faith, that we will always have each other for eternity. I know that we love each other, no matter what kind of day we are having.

nov. 17, 2012

I’m also grateful for a job that I absolutely love and all my co-workers that I have had the opportunity to work with. This has been by far the best job I have ever had, just because of the environment. I couldn’t ask for a better job if I had to.

I’m grateful for attending Boise State University (sorry to everyone in the office for showing my school sprit on fan Fridays – if you know me, you’ll notice that there isn’t one Friday that goes by that I’m not wearing my blue and orange). I know that when they played against BYU this year that BSU lost, but I was okay – not happy, but still okay. We all know that we have to lose some in order to have good games.

I’m grateful for the type of person that I am because it gives me the ability to have a good heart. And, no matter what the situation may be, I can and will always bounce back to be a better person than what I was before. I will always try to be happy and keep a smile on my face because life is too short to live any other way.

Thank you, Fernie! I can definitely say that she is always smiling and trying to help however she can. She is so thoughtful, with special little goodies on holidays, and she truly does care about other people. I admire her perseverance through difficult times and her dedication to her children. And I’m grateful to have gotten to know her.

May you all enjoy a blessed, happy and safe Thanksgiving with family and loved ones. And remember to take time to stop and count your many blessings as you enjoy the feast!