Tags

What a whirlwind of a week this has been! I left Idaho bright and early last Saturday morning to fly into the Cincinnati airport to attend the American Forage and Grassland Council meeting in Covington, Kentucky. (SIDE NOTE: I learned something about geography planning this trip, as I didn’t realize that Covington was literally right across the river from Cincinnati. Not often you hit two states with one trip – not counting airport layovers.)

If you know me, you know I’m not a huge fan of traveling. Don’t get me wrong…I love it once I GET somewhere. I just don’t love the trip itself. But we’re now entering the heavy travel season and it kind-of goes along with the job. Traveling East, with a two hour time difference, is always hard on a person…you stay up way too late and get up way too early. So I’m physically feeling pretty tired as we approach the end of another work week.

2013 logo with date and loc-2-1

But today I’m grateful for the opportunity I had to attend this particular conference. The meetings themselves were great, but what makes trips like this particularly meaningful are the people you are able to associate with. From University and Extension, to USDA, to allied industry, to producers – there are truly some wonderful people involved with this organization.

They have an earnest desire to continue to make progress in the world of forage crops and are eager to share what they know with others. They have an eye to the future but are not afraid to learn from the past. And they truly recognize how important forages are in the grand scheme of things.

So, thank you, AFGC and all those who participated in the meetings this week. It might have been a long, tiring week. But it was a good one!