Tags

As I sent out the reminder to our guest blogger earlier this week, I realized it was time to turn over another page on the calendar and we would be in the last month of the summer! It made me think, once again, how quickly time goes by and how important it is that we “live in the moment” and learn to enjoy all the things that are around us and that we are blessed with every day!

I’m excited to introduce you to a member of our production team, Kevin Brown, this week. He is one that is VERY good about noticing the details as he look at things with an artistic eye.

He writes:

Brown_KevinArtist Marc Chargall once said, “art is the unceasing effort to compete with the beauty of the flowers and never succeeding.” I love to paint plein air. Nothing seems to get the creative juices flowing quite like grabbing my French easel, some canvases and paints, and heading out to paint on location.

As I paint, I can hear the chirping birds, smell the fresh scent of pine, feel the heat from the sun or a cool breeze, and it fills me with wonder. I often find myself just spending a few moments in admiration for whatever location I am in.

vasquezrocks

In moments like those, I can’t help but feel a tremendous amount of gratitude for the beauty of this earth. Think of the variety of environments that are on this planet, each one beautiful in its own way. Take a moment and think of the different plant and animal species, each adding variety and beauty to the earth. Do we appreciate a sun-filled afternoon a little more because of a rain-soaked morning?

God, in His infinite wisdom and love, designed this beautiful earth on which we live. He did so to bring us joy and happiness. I am extremely grateful for the beauty and variety that is found on this earth. I am grateful for the warm fading color of the light of a summer evening just before the sun sets, the cool blue atmosphere of a snow-filled winter morning, the sounds and smells of the mountain woods and so many other of God’s creations.

untitled1

I think of the words of a children’s song written by Clara W. McMaster:

“Whenever I hear the song of a bird
Or look at the blue, blue sky,
Whenever I feel the rain on my face
Or the wind as it rushes by,
Whenever I touch a velvet rose
Or walk by our lilac tree,
I’m glad that I live in this beautiful world
Heav’nly Father created for me.”

“He gave me my eyes that I might see
The color of butterfly wings.
He gave me my ears that I might hear
The magical sound of things.
He gave me my life, my mind, my heart:
I thank Him rev’rently
For all His creations of which I’m a part.
Yes, I know Heav’nly Father loves me.”

I am grateful for this beautiful world and for my family. My wife and I were blessed with twin boys almost seven months ago. They are beautiful, healthy, and create some of the magical sights, sounds and smells which fill my heart with joy and gratitude.

EastonLiam

Louis Armstrong said it just right: “What a Wonderful World!”

Thank you so much, Kevin. I have such admiration for your talent as an artist, but even more than that, for you as a person. You are kind, thoughtful and sensitive and just a fun person to be around! I’m grateful to have gotten to know you and your good wife (and now those two sweet little boys, too!).

P.S. In case you don’t already know, Kevin is also the talented artist behind the issue 9 covers of Progressive Forage Grower the last several years. Here is “Last Bale” from the 2012 cover.

0912FG_cover_16x20

I can’t wait to see what he comes up with this year! Oh, and if you want to see more of Kevin’s work, visit his website – you won’t regret stopping by!