Tags

Another guest blogger joins us this week. Glen Leavitt, co-owner of Progressive Publishing, shares a story that reminds us that there are good people all around us. He writes:

Leavitt_Glen

The dairy/forage/beef industries in which I work are chock full of salt-of-the earth people. I had an experience last fall at World Dairy Expo in Madison, Wisconsin that reminded me that there are great souls all around us.

Here is the recap of my experience that I sent to their local paper – the Wisconsin State Journal.
 
“I have been coming to World Dairy Expo every year for the past 11 years. This is the key trade show for our magazine, Progressive Dairyman. I’ve always been impressed with the friendliness of the people I’ve met in your community, but this year it took on a new meaning for me. Tuesday night at dinner, my FRONT tooth came loose and fell out. I did an internet search for after-hours dentistry with no luck. So I showed up the on the doorstep of Hilldale Dental at 8 a.m. the next morning, hoping they could address my unfortunate situation.
 
“Dr. Fred Jaeger came to the rescue and glued my tooth back in and had me out the door by 9 so I could get to my show responsibilities. I even received a phone call from him that night, checking to make sure all was well! Holy cow, the day before this ‘stranger’ didn’t know me from a load of hay and here he was making sure I was okay – after hours. Wow! I want to thank Dr. Jaeger and all the folks in Madison for the great hospitality they showed to me this year. Thank you!!!”
 
The one thing I didn’t write in my letter to the editor was that as I got out of the chair, Dr. Jaeger stunned me by saying, “This one is on the house. Just send me a copy of your magazines.” 
 
I am grateful that there are giving people all around us. They inspire me to be more giving and generous with others.

Thank you, Glen, for sharing that story with us! It serves as a great reminder to us all that we should always be looking for ways to be there when someone else needs us.

I am so grateful to you, your dad and your brother for the opportunity you gave me several years ago to come to work for this company during a very difficult time for our family. We have been the beneficiaries of your kind and generous nature many times, and I hope to be able to continue to follow your example and be one of those “good people” we should all be striving to become.

P.S. The picture above was taken before Glen lost his tooth! I don’t think he wanted to share one with his “hillbilly” look! 🙂 He’s still working on the long-term solution…not easy to replace a front tooth!